xbox 360 freezing - High-Def Digest Forums

Old 05-12-2009, 11:07 PM

Default xbox 360 freezing

okay so one day i was playing my 360 and it froze up. i turned it on and it had the rrod. i shut it of, put a different game in and turned it on. when i turned it on the rrod was still flashing but i was still playing my game untill it froze. i left it alone for a month and i turned it on today and it had rrod. but i reset it and it worked but it keeps on freezing. i did some reset codes on it and it started working a little better and i started playing my game again but now it keeps freezing again i just get more gameplay time. its not the game because i have tried almost all my games
Old 05-13-2009, 02:45 AM

The RROD is caused by an over heating chipset inside the system. Essentially the system heats up so much that it cause the adhesive to become gooey and it (the chip) losses it's connection. Reheating the system (the towel trick) can temporarily fix the problem for alot of users, however this isn't a permanent fix and will eventually cause more harm then good. Your console needs repaired plain and simple. If it's under warranty (Manufactored within the last 3 years) contact microsoft either via xbox.com or through the toll free number. If it's out of warranty sell it on this site or on e-bay and go buy yourself a nice arcade unit.
Old 05-13-2009, 08:36 AM

I just called MS on a similar issue. My system of 3yrs keeps freezing on me, even opening the tray will cause the screen to get distorted and freeze. Unfortunately I'm not getting any lights (rings of death) so the repair will come out of my pocket $99. This will be the 2nd and last time I fix my 360 (1st time was covered under warranty) my next unit will either be MS's next gen machine, or a PS3.
Old 05-13-2009, 01:42 PM

Seriously you guys should just google xclamp and or try the penny fix.
They work.
If you don't want to shell out 99 bones because the unit is out of warranty.