Questions about the HD DVD drive for 360 - High-Def Digest Forums

Old 01-27-2007, 02:06 PM

Default Questions about the HD DVD drive for 360

I have a HD DVD for my XBox 360 and have a couple of questions about it.

1. Is using the the VGA Adapter better than component when watching movies. I believe it looks better.

2. Will any HD DVD movies have DTS output on the sound.
Old 01-27-2007, 03:37 PM

I'm trying to figure the add-on out also but this is what I gather.

1. You must use the VGA in order to get 1080p for HD DVD and upconverting SD DVD

2. I believe it can do or will do in the future DTS, but not TrueHD tracks.

I'm still learning on this stuff also so I could be wrong.
Old 01-30-2007, 12:12 AM
Special Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by hstewarth View Post
I have a HD DVD for my XBox 360 and have a couple of questions about it.

1. Is using the the VGA Adapter better than component when watching movies. I believe it looks better.

2. Will any HD DVD movies have DTS output on the sound.
There are HD-DVD movies that have DTS and there are plans for the movies themselves to have the DTS-HD sound, BUT the HD-DVD player will only be able to output the DTS (Analog) sound since it doesn't have an HDMI output.
Old 01-31-2007, 12:17 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by unsmart thing View Post
1. You must use the VGA in order to get 1080p for HD DVD and upconverting SD DVD
On a side note though as far as gaming goes, some newer games now offer 1080p. You can get that resolution with the VGA or Component. Just with the HD DVD do you need the VGA to get 1080p.
Old 02-03-2007, 06:23 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8 View Post
BUT the HD-DVD player will only be able to output the DTS (Analog) sound since it doesn't have an HDMI output.
I don't understand what you mean here.

DTS is purely a digital signal (and so is Dolby Digital for that matter).