Does Component vs VGA affect HD-DVD playback? - High-Def Digest Forums

Old 08-11-2007, 07:41 PM

Default Does Component vs VGA affect HD-DVD playback?

We all know that VGA does give a better pic while palying games, but does it give a better PQ compared to component when watching HD-DVD by using the addon for the 360 or is it the same as watching it on Component?
Old 08-11-2007, 07:56 PM

I'm no expert, but I guess it just depends on the T.V. you're using. If it's 1080P then i imagine vga would look better because your HD-DVD drive will display the movie at 1080P, however if you have a T.V. that's 720P or lower, then i imagine component would look just about the same, sometimes even better to some people because of the apparent washed out look of the VGA connection. Just depends on your TV set i guess
Old 08-11-2007, 08:28 PM

I have seen a dramatic increase in the quality of the image over VGA after the "spring update" of my 360: now the black are no longer washed out and generally speaking the "intensity" of the colors got much better.
Old 08-11-2007, 09:02 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kimba1970 View Post
I have seen a dramatic increase in the quality of the image over VGA after the "spring update" of my 360: now the black are no longer washed out and generally speaking the "intensity" of the colors got much better.
yeah i noticed this too after they added the feature of enhanced black levels after the spring update. before i never liked using the vga b/c colors didn't pop out as much as component. but after the update i switched back to vga because it looked better than before and pretty much match component colors. but i sold my vga cord, so i'm using component again.
Old 08-11-2007, 09:11 PM