Should I get the HD-DVD drive? Opinions based on my setup pls - High-Def Digest Forums

Old 08-07-2007, 11:26 PM

Default Should I get the HD-DVD drive? Opinions based on my setup pls

Hey all...

I'm a newb here, and have read a few pages of threads, but still wondering what you all think based on my exact setup.

Got the 360 'standard' (Elite not out here in Aus yet, no idea when it will be), connected to a Samsung 32" LCD (1080i max) by component.

I've been burned as an early-adopter before (went through 3 PS2 units, back and forward with retailer and Sony, before getting a non-faulty one, and as it was I paid $750 on release day and the damn thing's ~$150 now), but once I decide I want something it's damn hard for me not to get it ha, and seeing as I have and love my 360, and the add-on's so cheap, AND there's enough HD-DVD titles out and coming soon, I'm verrrrrry tempted.

Now I can change the connection type to VGA, ie my LCD has such an input but I'd have to buy the cable.

I find it hard to notice any different between 720p and 1080i on the 360, and while I like the extra pixels of 1080, I don't think my telly really supports it - 1366x768 according to the manual (can't post URL/link cuz I'm a newb here) - and I obviously prefer progressive over interlaced (at least theoretically).

So (hoping I haven't forgotten anything relevant), whaddya reckon? Is it worth it with my setup? Or should I wait til I get a 1080p-capable unit (probably many many years before the wife will allow it ha), or the format war is won, etc etc etc?
Old 08-08-2007, 02:32 AM

I use a tv about the size via 720p and i love it.
By jan 08 there will be over 700 hd dvds out.
Imports are you friend

Batman Begins
Borune movies
The Matrix
are a few good ones out
Old 08-08-2007, 02:49 AM

After the price drop and five free you might as well. Thats a crazy good deal.
Old 08-08-2007, 08:24 AM