Need help with Armee Im Schatten subtitles - High-Def Digest Forums
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-23-2008, 11:20 PM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 407
Default Need help with Armee Im Schatten subtitles

Bought this knowing that there was no English audio/subs but noted that the title was listed as having French subtitles. I can follow along (just about) as long as there are French subtitles, but not just with French audio. I can't for the life of me get it to display the subtitles in French. When you click on "sous-titres" it just goes to a description of how to use your remote to move the subtitles around. There is a an option (with a check box) called "bande d'information". I selected that so that it had a check mark and nothing. When I do the same thing from the German menu there are German subtitles! Very frustrating.

Any advice? I'm playing this with a 360 add-on. Even when I try to access the subtitles via the 360 onscreen menu I just get "action not available".
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-24-2008, 04:54 AM
Arkadin's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 12,401
Default

he has the German version.
that's his problem.
the French version is "L'ombres des Armee" or something like that.
the French version may have subs.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-24-2008, 09:31 AM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 407
Default

Rear cover says "Untertitel: Deutsch, Franzosisch, Niederlandisch, Finnisch, Norwegisch, Schwedisch". As I said above, I am able to access a French menu that lists "bande d'information" and "sous-titres".
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-24-2008, 09:50 AM
bruceames's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 7,479
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mistermono View Post
Rear cover says "Untertitel: Deutsch, Franzosisch, Niederlandisch, Finnisch, Norwegisch, Schwedisch". As I said above, I am able to access a French menu that lists "bande d'information" and "sous-titres".
I have the French version but it doesn't list having French subs in the back, nor does it show them when I choose "French" when I put it the disc for the first time. All the subs are forced in the language you choose (except French in my case, and it sounds like yours is the same), so there really is no menu option to choose subtitles independently of the audio track (as is common with most Studio Canal releases). It appears that the German version you have incorrectly list French subs.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-24-2008, 10:36 AM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 407
Default

Yep Bruce, looks that way. I've found a workaround though. I downloaded an English SRT file for the film which I'm going to print out and use as my guide while watching the movie.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-24-2008, 12:55 PM
Arkadin's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 12,401
Default

guess I was wrong.
sorry.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-24-2008, 01:12 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 8,420
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mistermono View Post
Rear cover says "Untertitel: Deutsch, Franzosisch, Niederlandisch, Finnisch, Norwegisch, Schwedisch". As I said above, I am able to access a French menu that lists "bande d'information" and "sous-titres".
Not sure about the Xbox add-on, but on a standalone HD DVD player, pressing the subtitles button on the remote and then the right > toggle button should cycle through all available subs on the disc.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-24-2008, 06:26 PM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 407
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CochiseGuy View Post
Not sure about the Xbox add-on, but on a standalone HD DVD player, pressing the subtitles button on the remote and then the right > toggle button should cycle through all available subs on the disc.
I could try that on the HD-A2 I bought for my mom and dad, but I won't be seeing them again until the end of January. Plus it is a 2+ hr film, so I think I will go with the English printout option (less chance of my rickety French letting me down).
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-25-2008, 04:59 AM
kannisto's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 5,590
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CochiseGuy View Post
Not sure about the Xbox add-on, but on a standalone HD DVD player, pressing the subtitles button on the remote and then the right > toggle button should cycle through all available subs on the disc.
That doesn't work with all discs, for example these Studio Canal discs have subtitles done with HDi and they are basically just linked to menu language selection and not selectable by any other means.

Even though I remove "Prevented User Options" with AnyDVD HD, the PC environment doesn't allow subtitle selection through the playback software's menu either with this disc (I tried with the French release).
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-25-2008, 03:12 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,950
Default

I have the German and the French discs and can try them both on the PC and the standalone players of you like. Let mw know what exactly it is that you want it to do and I will see what I can do for you. BTW if you hook the 360 Add On to you PC you can use that SRT file with Titlesdrome and have it put the English Subs in for you
Reply With Quote
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SDH subtitles? Help yipchunyu HD DVD Software General Discussion 4 09-19-2007 12:30 PM
King Arthur Review Subtitles ? Maxx_75 Feedback 1 05-15-2007 03:10 PM
Thai Subtitles mingus General Discussion: Both Formats 3 03-14-2007 09:12 PM
HD DVD Subtitles Joe31956 HD DVD Software General Discussion 19 02-24-2007 08:25 PM
French subtitles on some Fox or MGM releases? PLISSKEN Blu-ray Software General Discussion 0 01-18-2007 08:56 AM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off