Help With dolby digital True HD - High-Def Digest Forums

Old 06-20-2007, 09:48 AM

Default Help With dolby digital True HD

Hey guys newbie here and i have a couple of questions that maybe you guys can help me with. I bought Toshiba hd-a2 a few weeks back and i am starting my hd dvd collection. Picture looks amazing and the sound is really good with my Onkyo tx-sr604 receiver. I am currently getting sound from the optical connection. I saw that the hd-a2 supports Dolby True Hd so i was wondering if i used the hdmi output to my hdmi input on my receiver would i get Dolby Digital True Hd sound and the Hd-a2 supports?
Old 06-20-2007, 10:02 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by boogie1679 View Post
Hey guys newbie here and i have a couple of questions that maybe you guys can help me with. I bought Toshiba hd-a2 a few weeks back and i am starting my hd dvd collection. Picture looks amazing and the sound is really good with my Onkyo tx-sr604 receiver. I am currently getting sound from the optical connection. I saw that the hd-a2 supports Dolby True Hd so i was wondering if i used the hdmi output to my hdmi input on my receiver would i get Dolby Digital True Hd sound and the Hd-a2 supports?
Hi boogie, welcome to the HDD Forums!

Yes, all Toshiba HD DVD players support TrueHD - "support" meaning they can internally decode it and send it to the receiver for amplifying.

But the digital optical does not have enough bandwidth to pass it through. You'll need to connect an HDMI cable from the A2 to the 604 (input 1 or 2), and then another HDMI cable from the 604 HDMI out to your display. Then consult your 604 manual on how to assign the HDMI input to the A2 (very easy).

Only a number of HD DVD titles have a TrueHD audio track; check the specs on individual titles. And then you need to go into the HD DVD menu to select the TrueHD audio, as the default is always the lower Dolby Digital track.