Is This Internal HD DVD Player Any Good? - High-Def Digest Forums

Old 05-09-2009, 08:48 PM

Default Is This Internal HD DVD Player Any Good?

I am new to the HD DVD world, just tryinig to get something simple for now. Is this a good unit?

Toshiba IDE HD-DVD / DVD Black SD-H802A HP # 5188-6233

I tried to digging but didn't find much. I guess the CD and DVD aspects of this drive aren't that great, but I am wanting this unit strictly for the HD DVD. I already have a nice CD-R/DVD-R drive in my desktop. Anyone know anything about this product? Thx
Old 05-13-2009, 03:35 PM

Not sure what info you are really looking for, but I have one in my PC and it works fine. I've also got LG BD/HD DVD hybrid player and as far as HD DVD goes they both work well.
Old 05-13-2009, 03:46 PM

I'm looking for nice 1080P picture and good sound. Nothing too fancy and not overly concerned with load times. I am just getting into the HD DVD game, mostly just to save money, compiling some high def sets (fast&furious, bourne, etc) and catalog titles at lower prices.

I started collecting HD DVDs about a two weeks before the Red2Blu. I have only been buying titles I did not already own. Just so happened that I had purchased about 3 or 4 titles that ended up being Red2Blu eligible. Now I am just looking to purchase anything where the HD DVD is equal or better quality to the Blu, to save money.

I just got a new desktop with 7GB RAM and a 20.5" 1080P monitor and a 15000:1 or 20000:1 (I forget) contrast ratio. If I get the internal, as I understand it I will have to buy a Roku (which I am already wanting but kinda wanted to wait $ wise) player in order to broadcast on my TV but I could still use the high def on my desktop in the mean time. Looking at either getting the internal Toshiba or a stand alone Toshiba HD-A20, maybe both eventually, but only one for now.
Old 05-13-2009, 05:10 PM