Potential HD DVD Adopter has some questions... - High-Def Digest Forums

Old 04-21-2007, 03:35 PM

Question Potential HD DVD Adopter has some questions...

First off I would like to say that this is my first post here and I'd like to introduce myself. I'm a long time movie lover and lover of the DVD format as well as an avid gamer. I have a thing for excellent picture quality and sound fidelity. Back in 2005 I bought my first HDTV (Sony KV-30HS420 30" FD Trinitron WEGA). Being a college student means that I don't have the funds nor the living space to afford a larger display. I have been using a Samsung upconversion DVD player for about 2 years now along with the TV and have been relatively happy with the picture quality. However, my only problem is that I have not really been enjoying true HD content on my screen that I invested upwards of $850 2 years ago.

I have decided to buy a XBox 360 Elite when it is released and I'm strongly considering picking up the HD DVD player add on for the system. Several of my major concerns about making the leap to the format have been lingering since I started reading up and spying around this forum.

First, would be the most obvious, I do not like the format war in general as the consumer must take a leap of faith so to speak if they intend to be an early adopter for either format. Much of my reasoning for most likely and potentially going for HD DVD is the relatively cheaper price of admission ($200 for the addon drive), along with what I have read and seen as far as individual movie reviews go and studio backing. I will admit that I'm not 100% going for a single format as of yet, because I do not agree with the format war, but hell, I just want to enjoy HD movies, and I don't really want to break the bank.