Guide to Playing HD-DVDs on a PC - High-Def Digest Forums

Old 05-28-2008, 01:29 PM

Default Guide to Playing HD-DVDs on a PC

My original post can be found here on page 3. CochiseGuy suggested I repost my overview of connecting a PC HD-DVD Rom Drive and getting it to play movies in this section, so I will try to one up my previous post by cleaning it up and adding more info I didn't previously mention. This "Guide" is really my personal experience in getting HD-DVDs playing flawlessly on my system. My PC is not setup to be a HTPC, I have little experience with HTPCs so you with need to do further research if you are trying to update your system to become one.

Do not attempt to upgrade your computer if you have little or no knowledge of internal pc components.

What you will need to get your PC to play HD-DVDs:
-A pc with Windows XP or Vista
-A HD-DVD Rom Drive or XBox 360 Add-on
-A fairly decent video card capable of handling and processing HD video.
-A decent processor, 3ghz is the minimum requirement, but I have heard of some 2.6ghz+ AMD systems working
-At least 512mb of Ram/Memory, 1gb for Vista users
-A HDCP compliant monitor or AnyDVD HD
-A software based HD-DVD player such as PowerDVD 8 Ultra with the HD-DVD hack, or WinDVD 8 with HD Playback
-XBox 360 HD-DVD Add-On users will need a empty USB 2.0 port on their pc

To determine if your pc will be capable of playing HD-DVDs with this drive the first step you should take is installing and running the Cyberlink HD/BD Advisor from here.