Pans Labyrinth audio help for Dummys - High-Def Digest Forums

Old 12-30-2007, 10:23 PM

Default Pans Labyrinth audio help for Dummys

Help! I can't get audio from Pans Labyrinth, only in the logo and menu area do I hear anything. I'm using a PC with PowerDVD 7, the menu shows spanish DTS Master 7.1 audio but no radio button to select. I would assume this means it's the default audio. I know there is no english audio. My system is using 5.1 audio out of a X-Fi soundcard and all other dvd's work fine. I'm not very technical with this stuff, so a layman's version would be great.

TIA,
Schlim66

PS. Mods, if this is in the wrong place please move, thanks
Old 12-30-2007, 11:18 PM

There's only the one audio track on Pan's Labyrinth. There's no Dolby mix or anything other than the DTS-HD MA track. You get it and like it.

Do you have any other HD discs with DTS-HD MA? All DTS-HD streams contain a core legacy DTS track, and the player is supposed to recognize this and extract that core. Power DVD 7 does DTS decoding, so maybe it has a bug with DTS-HD tracks, and is failing to find the core track in there?
Old 12-30-2007, 11:41 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aurora View Post
There's only the one audio track on Pan's Labyrinth. There's no Dolby mix or anything other than the DTS-HD MA track. You get it and like it.

Do you have any other HD discs with DTS-HD MA? All DTS-HD streams contain a core legacy DTS track, and the player is supposed to recognize this and extract that core. Power DVD 7 does DTS decoding, so maybe it has a bug with DTS-HD tracks, and is failing to find the core track in there?
That seems to be the case. Out of curiosity, I checked Pan in my laptop, no audio. So, I pulled out The Untouchables, which also has a DTS-HD track, and again no audio.
Old 12-31-2007, 12:24 AM