HELP NEEDED! A35 & Onkyo 605 - High-Def Digest Forums

Old 10-10-2007, 10:52 PM

Default HELP NEEDED! A35 & Onkyo 605

Taken from posts on the avs forums but no one has been able to help me:

Please help me! I am new to HD DVD.

I just got my A35 today and tried hooking it up to HDMI input 2 on my Onkyo 605.

I am testing Batman Begins with Dolby True HD track.

I have my HDMI set to bitsream audio from the Toshiba to the Onkyo. All I get is the 605 saying that it is getting PCM audio even though the Toshiba is saying it is True HD. I have no menu options in A35 set to PCM at all. This is the weakest audio I have ever heard.

My PS3 on HDMI input 1 of the 605 is playing fine and Dolby and everything lights up for that.

Please tell me how to fix this! I am using a Acoustic Research Performance Series HDMI cable and using Direct listening mode on the receiver.

I just confirmed that True HD is selected and even when Dolby is selected on the Toshiba my receiver is not receiving the bitstream

what listening mode are you in on the 605?

Just made sure my listening modes were selected

Even set the A35 to PCM and the sound still sounds horrible and I just noticed that I even have no rear sound now!

How can this be so much different than my PS3 which I have set to bitstream.

I am pulling my hair out here trying to figure out what is wrong.

I did a master rest of my receiver too and still the same thing when trying to bring bitstream audio on HDMI2 input????????????????

I just checked the Onkyo website and it said that my serial # does not need the update. I am out of luck I guess. I tried everything!

Quote:
leave HDMI in AUTO and turn on the direct audio option

That would make perfect sense but I have both of those fields enabled in the Toshiba as you said.