To buy the HD-XA2 or the upcoming HD-A35? - High-Def Digest Forums

Old 09-06-2007, 08:33 PM

Default To buy the HD-XA2 or the upcoming HD-A35?

Hello. I'm pretty new to the HD market. I was interested in buying the 2nd generation discounted HD-XA2 at $580, or so. But reading the article of the 3rd generation HD-A35, makes me wonder which one I should get? I'm not a huge technofile on this format war, so any expert opinion would really help. Thanks everyone!
Old 09-06-2007, 09:23 PM

you can get the XA2 cheaper than 580 no ??, Amazon has it for $569 with free shipping and I swear I heard people were getting it at best Buy for $499, I also heard the A35 will not have the Reon chip for upconversion, but that is just speculation.
Old 09-06-2007, 10:29 PM

That's right - it won't.

Only the XA2 will have it.

Reason: Money.

Silicon Optics makes money selling their chip - and it isn't cheap.
HD DVD needs inexpensive players to win the war - thus no HQV chip in the A35.

Good move (IMO) since the really good chip Silicon O produces is the design above the one that's in the XA2 (the one that does 1024 tap filtering).

-DE
Old 09-07-2007, 06:38 AM

I've been wondering about this same thing too, and since i didn't want to start a new topic on the same question, i hope you guys don't mind me popping a question too I will be getting a new player in the next couple of months and i'm not yet really sure which one to get. Now that Toshiba came out with their 3rd generaton players i wonder how they stand up to e.g. the XA-2? I'm not really interested in the cheapest player, so count them out. What i'm looking for is a player that is good and gives me value for what i pay for, even if it's a bit more expensive.