Late to the Party: Braid - High-Def Digest Forums

Old 10-14-2008, 09:49 AM

Default Late to the Party: Braid

I started playing Braid last night and fell in love with the story the moment I read the first few narrations. Gameplay is fine. The jumping mechanics (i.e. non-floaty) is probably how LittleBigPlanet should be. The artistic style is great. Love the paintings you have to piece together. Hate World 4 where your movement forwards and reverses time. The music is amazing. Anyone know if there is a soundtrack or other way to get the music?
Old 10-14-2008, 09:57 AM

Braid is completely excellent and I hear you on world 4 lol!!! Very difficult puzzles, there are more than a few peices I have yet to figure out how you're supposed to get them. I completely agree with the story as well, I love how you learn more and more about how you got to be where you are as you move through worlds, and more about the regrets your main character has (I forget his name), I also love the premise of being able to go back and fix it all.... Because I mean, who doesn't have something in their lives they wish they could go back and fix up?
Old 10-14-2008, 10:01 AM

Braid is a great little game, not doubt. I wish it had a little more meat on it's bones, but some of the puzzles can be extremely challenging and rewarding. I also thought the price was fair.

I loved the artistic style and the music. I have mixed feelings about the ending, but it is definitely surprising, and unexpected. I read the developer wanted to leave it open to user interpretation and it definitely accomplished that goal.
Old 10-14-2008, 10:10 AM

The price seems high to me. Based on my progress through the game I think it should be $10. But I'll obviously re-assess after finishing it.