Since we believe in OAR why don't we also believe in ORR? - High-Def Digest Forums
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-15-2008, 10:08 PM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,731
Default Since we believe in OAR why don't we also believe in ORR?

We all believe in OAR(Original Aspect Ratio) so why don't we also push for ORR(Original Resolution Representation)?
There have been shows that are either shot on 720p and have been upscaled to 1080p or shot on both 1080i and 720p and have both been put in 1080p as well? For example "Robin Hood" was shot at both and I would like the Blu-ray to accurately reflect this by offering the 720p shots in 720p and the 1080i one's in 1080p. I say 1080p because we know 1080i is mathematically accurate to 1080p once it's de-interlaced. "Battlestar Galactica" was shot at 720p to my knowledge also.
I complain because what if I want to upscale it myself or have a 720p tv where I can watch it accurately represented? Also "28 Days Later" was 480p and upscaled and so was an Anime by Bandai.
Also one I thought I'd add is original Lossless as well. Some older films were either shot with stereo or mono so the sound design is sparse to begin with. This being said I'd appreciate said tracks in PCM instead of a compressed codec like Dolby Digital. Also I don't mind the remixed track being offered in Lossless but I don't want it to be the ONLY Lossless track offered. I can't believe including both would truly take up too much space.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-16-2008, 01:05 AM
Filler's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 457
Default

But would it really matter? Unless your tv is 720p or 1080i, it would be upscaled to 1080p anyway.

Agree on the sound though.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-16-2008, 01:20 AM
twonunpackmule's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 32,865
Default

Because "upscaling" the resolution will never create more "information". If it isn't in the source...it'll never be there.

You can't get better then the source.
__________________
PSN/Live - Twonunpackmule
3DS - 0817 - 4464 - 1180

Any game that features paid loot boxes should be rated AO.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-16-2008, 01:28 AM
Super-VHS's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 3,570
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sarang View Post
"Battlestar Galactica" was shot at 720p to my knowledge also.
No it wasn't/isn't. The miniseries was shot on 35mm film and the series itself is a mixture of 35mm and 1080/24p video.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-16-2008, 02:51 AM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,731
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Super-VHS View Post
No it wasn't/isn't. The miniseries was shot on 35mm film and the series itself is a mixture of 35mm and 1080/24p video.
Ok thanks for correcting me. I'd heard that it was shot in 720p. Glad to hear it's not.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-16-2008, 11:43 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 484
Default

Aren't most HD cams less than full HD (anamophic 1440x1080 seems to the most popular)? You have to scale to preserve aspect ratio though.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-16-2008, 12:10 PM
Super-VHS's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 3,570
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Da Man View Post
Aren't most HD cams less than full HD (anamorphic 1440x1080 seems to the most popular)? You have to scale to preserve aspect ratio though.
Consumer cameras? Yes (mostly).

Professional HD cams? No (mostly).

One of the most popular HD cams for TV seems to be the Sony HDW-F900 which is a full 1080p HD camera using the full 1920X1080 frame.

Part of the reason that 1080/24p is used is because HD video is still second to 35 and 16 mm film which has more resolution than HDTV and uses 24 frames a second.

The above of course is all for America.

In Europe (particularly the United Kingdom) things are a bit different. TV is almost never involved with film (16, 35 or otherwise) and almost always shot on video.

1440X1080 is in the UK standard for HDTV and the BBC has all shows delivered in the 1440 (anamorphic) format no matter if it was shot in 720p (some shows do get shot at that resolution partly at least), 1080i or 1080p.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-16-2008, 06:30 PM
Filler's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 457
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by twonunpackmule View Post
Because "upscaling" the resolution will never create more "information". If it isn't in the source...it'll never be there.

You can't get better then the source.
I know that, but if you have a 1080p tv, it would be upscaled anyway. The tv would do it.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-16-2008, 07:24 PM
Arkadin's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 12,401
Default

you would have to have a tv that could switch between native resolutions to take advantage of what you are talking about imo.
Since that doesn't exist, I can't see where always having releases in OOR could ever matter.
OAR is different precisely because a set can display all of the different incarnations (through the use of black bars) so this analogy doesn't really work.
In theory it's a great idea.
btw: this idea is part of the reason that some material does look better on 768p sets vs. 1080p.
but it's all goes back to what resolution the material is encoded at vs. the original resolution of the film, video, etc.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-17-2008, 03:00 AM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,731
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Filler View Post
I know that, but if you have a 1080p tv, it would be upscaled anyway. The tv would do it.
Yes if you choose that but if you had a 480p tv wouldn't you prefer to display it on that? I'm saying it's no issue if they just made it 480p by default.
I'm frankly curious how many films like 28 Days were shot in 480p with 5.1 or greater sound.
It's ORR(Original Resolution Representation) Arkadin. S-VHS that's a real shame considering shows like "Doctor Who" on there and other Sci-Fi and Drama shows that I'm sure were good. As it stands unless they had 5.1 or great sound there's no reason to buy them on BR. It's really a shame these companies didn't think ahead to shooting on HD or film so they could milk the releases $wise down the line.
This is principally why I consider George Lucas an idiot for shooting the 3 prequels in HD except for "The Phantom Menace". After he releases them on BR the only time he'll be able to sell the latter 2 again will be on the next format in 1080p 4:4:4. Past that no or he's upscaling.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I can't believe it "Audio dropouts since last BOSE V25 firmware July 29th, 2011." charolin Blu-ray Hardware General Discussion 2 08-08-2011 03:54 PM
F/T Outlander with correct OAR pentatonic Blu-ray Disc Exchange 1 10-16-2009 02:20 PM
OAR on movie channels..WTF!?!?! DigitalFreakNYC HDTV Programming and Info 8 04-16-2009 03:53 PM
Oh NO!!! Possible "Clockwork Orange" Disaster Regarding OAR! Arkadin HD DVD Software General Discussion 21 10-24-2007 06:20 AM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off