Unable to hear anything using PS3 Optical Connector to watch Star Wars blu Dolby6.1 - High-Def Digest Forums

Old 05-15-2012, 01:10 PM

Unable to hear anything using PS3 Optical Connector to watch Star Wars blu Dolby6.1

Hello everyone, I am a newbie to this forum and just getting my feet wet with DIY troubleshoothing.

The Setup in question:
--PS3 (fat)
--Blu-Ray disc Star Wars
-- Turtle Beach Wireless Headphones

The PS3 is connected to the TV directly using the HDMI Connector for Video
The PS3 Audio output is set to Optical Digital
I dont remember exactly what audio formats I have selected.

Description of the Problem
When I connect a pair of wireless headphones to the PS3 using the Optical Digital connector, I dont not hear the audio from the Blu-ray movie. I do however hear the audio till the movie menu (which I am guessing is in Dolby 5.1. But the main movie track audio is in Dolby 6.1 (Leave it to Lucas to add frustrating permutations)

I would like to know what options do I have to resolve this. The very least I would like to get stereo audio so I can watch the movie using the headphones so as not to wake up the rest of the family.

I thank you for your time to read this and any help you may offer. :-)
Old 05-16-2012, 10:44 AM

Have you tried setting the audio to PCM on the PS3?

That may work, any situation in the past I have experienced issues like the one you have described, I would default the audio to PCM.
Old 05-16-2012, 10:55 AM

Thanks, I will select Linear PCM as the output and give this a try tonight.
Old 05-16-2012, 01:31 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by letsfindout View Post
Thanks, I will select Linear PCM as the output and give this a try tonight.
Cool, let me know if it works. I will be interested to hear if it does.
Old 05-20-2012, 01:43 PM

Thank you Thank you Thank you Mr. JSmith. Changing the Optical Digital output types to accept Linear PCM worked.