Why the long wait for SHAWSHANK on Blu?! - High-Def Digest Forums

Old 08-08-2008, 10:40 AM
Banned

Default Why the long wait for SHAWSHANK on Blu?!

Ever since I've been coming here to highdefdigest (since October 2007), I've seen news articles that read, "______ COMING TO BLU". - I click it and read it, and it turns out the said title will be out on BLU aproximately 2 months from the day the article was written. That's cool!

here's an example

HighDefDigest Announcement:
On 8/7/08
"BEETLEJUICE TO BLU on 10/7/08"
thats 2 months!! Sweet!!

HighDefDigest announcement:
On 8/5/07
"POLTERGEIST TO BLU on 10/14/08"
thats 2 months! Excellent!

Why is it taking 9 months for Shawshank Redemption to come out on Blu?

HighDefDigest Announcement:
On 2/25/08
SHAWSHANK REDEMPTION to Blu on 11/4/08
What!? Why bother telling us?! Thats almost a year away when I read that and marked it on my calendar!!
Old 08-08-2008, 10:44 AM

Tell me about it. The Shawshank Redemption was originally going to be released on HD DVD in late 2006. Now we're halfway through 2008, HD DVD has passed away in the meantime, and Shawshank is still not available in HD.
Old 08-08-2008, 10:56 AM

Actually, SR really has been announced, but it is time for "Good News/Bad News":

"The Shawshank Redemption was announced for Blu-ray a few days ago."

"That's good news."

"No, it's bad news. It is a United Kingdom release."

"Oh, that's bad news."

"No, it's good news because it is being released by ITV who have recently released several titles playable here in the U.S."

"That's good news."

"No, that's bad news. Only the movie would be playable in the U.S. Any extra featurettes on the disc would be only payable on a PAL system."

"That's bad news."

"No, that's good news, because so many times featurettes are boring, anyway. You can order it and get the great movie for here."

"Then that's good news."

"No, that's bad news because the exchange rate and shipping will kill you."

"That's bad news."