'Rescue Dawn' - High-Def Digest review - High-Def Digest Forums

Old 11-26-2007, 12:12 PM
HDD Founder

Default 'Rescue Dawn' - High-Def Digest review

Kenneth's review of 'Rescue Dawn' is up. He says this one's quite strong as a Blu-ray release, boasting an excellent video transfer, a convincing DTS HD MA audio track and a nice collection of supplemental features.

Full review here:
http://bluray.highdefdigest.com/1167/rescuedawn.html
Old 11-26-2007, 12:24 PM

Kenneth --

Is purple fringing around high contrast shots visible in the Blu-ray edition?

Specifically, the helicopter against the sky towards the end of the film. The sky is washed-out white in that shot and the chopper is almost silouhette, but there was a severe amount of purple fringing in the theatrical presentation.
Old 11-26-2007, 12:34 PM

looks awesome, is it region free?
Old 11-26-2007, 12:46 PM

I'm going to get this movie. Since I'm new to the Blu scene, how will my PS3 handle the DTS HD MA audio track? It's my understanding that the PS3 can't decode this natively yet. Am I right to assume it'll just send it out as PCM?

Thanks.
Old 11-26-2007, 01:05 PM
Contributor

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Bandit View Post
Kenneth --

Is purple fringing around high contrast shots visible in the Blu-ray edition?

Specifically, the helicopter against the sky towards the end of the film. The sky is washed-out white in that shot and the chopper is almost silouhette, but there was a severe amount of purple fringing in the theatrical presentation.
I just went back and revisited a few high-contrast scenes in 'Rescue Dawn.' I definitely didn't catch any severe purple fringing, even when I scoured the last ten minutes of the film. I caught a very minimal amount here and there, but it's tough to tell what's fringing and what's a trick of the eye when you're staring at high contrast edges for several minutes. Either way, there isn't a significant amount that would detract from the image quality.