Onkyo Announces its First 3D Blu-ray Player - High-Def Digest Forums

Old 04-12-2011, 06:58 PM
HDD Contributor

Default Onkyo Announces its First 3D Blu-ray Player

The new BD-SP309 will be available in mid May for $249.

http://news.ecoustics.com/bbs/messag...81/677689.html
Old 04-12-2011, 07:22 PM
Banned

Thanks for the post. It’s also the first 3-D Blu-ray player on the market that has no analog video and no analog audio outputs. Which is fine for people that own modern HDTV’s with HDMI and modern A/V receivers.

http://forums.highdefdigest.com/blu-...io-output.html

Last edited by HDTV1080P; 04-13-2011 at 06:47 PM. Reason: edited for accuracy
Old 04-14-2011, 11:23 AM

That sounds like a pretty good deal for a player from this company - its almost down to the price of lower-end players. I wonder how it stacks up - just sounds REALLY cheap for an Onkyo.
Old 04-15-2011, 09:45 AM

Default 3D compatibility

I'm a 3D noob, and I have a lingering question I can't seem to get answered. I know the 3D market hasn't been standardized yet and there are a few competing technologies (e.g. Samsung and LG use different 3D technologies in their displays and players). Therefore, the rule of thumb is to buy a 3D Blu-ray player and 3D TV of the same brand to ensure compatibility, right? Here's my question: how do you know, beyond brand matching, what equipment is compatible? This is especially confusing when you add a player (i.e. source), an A/V receiver, and a TV. Do you also have to make sure the receiver is compatible with the TV & player? In regard to this article, when a company like Onkyo, which doesn't manufacture displays, makes a 3D Blu-ray player, how do you know which TVs and receivers it will be compatible with?

Thanks for any informed advice!
Old 04-15-2011, 12:36 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by mojo16 View Post