Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 Last>>

Default Whats better.... DLP or 3LCD? when it comes to projectors

So i still have a couple of months till i save up enough for an HD projector and make my final choice. Ive been looking at 3LCD, but my freind tells me DLP is the way to go when it comes to home theater projector, what do you experts say?
    My Setup: http://s271.photobucket.com/albums/j...eWrathOfBambi/
    Lumenlabs evo 1.2 LCD video projector
    JVC RX-D411S 7.1 surround sound receiver
    Playstation 3 40 gig version
    Xbox 360
    Toshiba HD-A3 Player = Bought another one got a really cheap deal and couldnt resist... lol plus, hd dvd's can be bought for super cheap now!
    Sega Dreamcast Nintendo wii
    Blu Rays i own: 20
    HD DVD's i own 21
    Well when its comes to RPTV I'd say Sony 3LCDs are better than DLPs......but i'm no expert. I think Sony E3000 has better picture than RPTV DLP I have seen....does that carry over to front projectors?
    Last edited by junglalien; 08-04-2008 at 09:08 AM.
    When it comes to front projectors, I believe that LCD is better than DLP. Comparison of specific models at various price points might result in a recommendation of the DLP, but in general, I believe LCD is better. You won't get unanimous approval for either type with this question.

Chris
    3LCD has 3 chips one for each primary color. DLP uses one chip and a color wheel. The color wheel is a moving part that can cause "rainbow effect" or break up of colors. I don't know what models you are looking at but it seems people here find the Epsons to be outstanding projectors and I believe they use 3LCD.
    EDIT: I guess they have 3 chip DLP now but it may be expensive. I'm going to stop talking now since I'm getting into something I don't know that much about and let some projector folks comment.