Go Back   High-Def Digest Forums > High-Definition Content and Gear > Home Theater Gear
Reload this Page Hello, newbie here......having weird purple lines running on my tv...
Page 1 of 2 1 2 Last>>

Default Hello, newbie here......having weird purple lines running on my tv...(FIXED!)

Hello all. I just registered (although I have been lurking) here in the forums and was wondering if anyone could help me with my problem.

I recently purchased the 40" Sony Bravia LCD and its been running perfectly. The PS3 runs beautifully with my hdmi hooked up and so does the wii and the xbox 360 with their component cables.

The problem im having is with my cable box.
    I recently just upgraded it when I purchased my tv and ever since its been running with horizontal purple lines (faint but its there and annoying) up it. The HD channels look great but even still, it has the purple lines running up the screen.
    I was wondering if anyone else had this problem and how it was fixed. I'm thinking it may be the component cables that came with the box when I exchanged it.
    I tried looking online for a solution but I really couldn't find much on this problem.
    I even went through the setup on my cable box with no improvements.
    All my other systems on running fine without this line on the screen.

Any help would be really appreciated. Im really just beginning to get into this whole HD thing and would really love advice.
    Thanks!
    Last edited by TheJoker; 10-19-2007 at 07:56 PM.
    I had a problem just like yours. I believe its called a Ground Loop.
    I dont know much about it but you can find much more about it at the AVS forums. just look it up.
    heres a quick link: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ground_loop_(electricity)

The problem I had went away by itself...was kinda wierd....I have only had that happen to me twice....with my projector...I would get these huge purple lines moving up the screen...
    Xbox360 Games: 45