Go Back   High-Def Digest Forums > Site-Related Forums > Feedback
Register Forum Rules FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-26-2009, 03:08 PM
Vsions's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Default Virus attacks while browsing HDD?

Ive been getting multiple threats from this site starting today. Anyone else? I will try to list them the next time I see the threat.
__________________
__________________
www.pixelrapture.com

PSN= Vsions
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-26-2009, 03:28 PM
Lee Stewart's Avatar
Formerly "HDTV Addict"
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Default

Yes - it also happened to me a few hours ago
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-26-2009, 08:42 PM
ack_bak's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Buy/Sell/Trade Score: 0
Posts: 15,407
Default

If you are visiting this site using Windows, I recommend using Firefox with the "NoScript" plugin.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-27-2009, 10:12 AM
Blu-News.com's Avatar
Always SpartanJohnson
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Default

Yeah the site makes Firefox freeze and have to exit after a while.
__________________
www.blu-news.com RELAUNCHED and BETTER than EVER.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-27-2009, 11:16 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Default

I have the same thing going on. I am running firefox and it just locks up.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-27-2009, 02:43 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Default

Can you give me a specific page that is giving you these warnings?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-27-2009, 02:51 PM
darkdaze73's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: North Carolina
Default

I had one come up on me on Sunday(10/25) while trying to look at someone FS/FT thread in the blu-ray bargains section. IE user here.
__________________
180+
150+
want list
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-27-2009, 03:09 PM
Blu-News.com's Avatar
Always SpartanJohnson
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Default

IB, it just happens randomly, even when just looking at the main forums page to select a specific part of the forum.
__________________
www.blu-news.com RELAUNCHED and BETTER than EVER.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-27-2009, 03:16 PM
Stranger Danger's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Default

I got 3 virus attacks on on my work PC and I frequent HDD at work. This bothers me.
__________________
PS3 60g
Xbox 360 20g gamertag: strangerzdanger
Blu-ray 50+
Samsung - 50" Class / 1080p / 600Hz / Plasma HDTV
Yamaha HTR-5460 Receiver
Tivoli Tower Fronts, Jensen center, sub and rears
Dish Network VIP 722 DVR 500gig
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-27-2009, 03:59 PM
project-blu's Avatar
The Boss Man
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Southern California
Default

that means it's an ad if it's random pages. only thing that makes sense.

when it happens, can you screenshot the page w/ the ads on top and to the right? just tryin' to help the IB crew here, and i know they ask for screenshots when there's exploding ads.
__________________
Blu-ray reviews, plus an 8 movie (mostly animated) Christmas giveaway coming soon!
View all of my HDD and PB reviews here.
PSN ID: projectblu (playing: Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2)

My views and opinions belong only to me, and are not the views and opinions of necessarily anyone, even me. You read that correctly.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 10-27-2009, 07:43 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Default

Ya, it has locked up a few times for me on IE using laptops with both XP and Vista..... sometimes, Internet Explorer then will show the message that this site has been listed as a hazard...... It did seem that it was locking up when one of the big ads was loading to the right of the page here. I thought at first it was a result of some bogus Windows security updates because I have noticed several of these updates lately that have been pushed down on my machines over the past couple weeks.........
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-27-2009, 10:31 PM
mmmmDoNut's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Default

These attacks are hitting sites all over. I know Gizmodo was infected. Here's a link to theregister discussing the issue highlevel. Was trying to find more detailed article on secunia but havent found it yet.

http://www.theregister.co.uk/2009/10...romises_spike/

Here's url to Gizmodo's apology and has more details on issue they were having.

http://www.theregister.co.uk/2009/10...lware_hackers/
__________________
Video: 70" JVC HD-70G886, Denon 2807, Toshiba HD-A2, Sharp BD-HP20U, aTV, Vip 612
Audio: Athena WS-100 (F), WS-60 (C,SL/R), WS-15 (SBL/R), AS-P4100

Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-27-2009, 11:27 PM
The_Doctor's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Default

So the attack came from here!!! sonofabitch

I had an attack Sunday (10/25) night while browsing the forum. I didn't connect it with the forum because there was a 3rd and 4th browser page opened to Google so i assumed the Malwear came from google.
The firewall stopped it and ad-aware tried to clean it up. Still took time to dig it out. I was using firefox if that matters.

The other thing I remember was it trying open a link to theyaredead(alldead?).net (com?)



mmmmDoNut, nice Flame Point Siamese.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-28-2009, 09:43 AM
mmmmDoNut's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Default

@Doctor: not sure why you stating "flame point" when I'm trying to help. EDIT. Such a dumbass not getting you referring to my critter. Never heard of flame point before and figured word flame in a forum meaning just that.

Also found some other information about these malware attacks that they are exploiting current vulnerabilities in jre, reader, and of course ie. Sites like msnbc, time, and people.com have all been hit with these viral advertisements.

From sources I know these advertisements are doing redirects to the following domains:

yrella.net
blusox.net
www1.dublira.net

And if exploits are successful, secondary redirects are going here:

gp5z.ws
64.34.174.24
64.34.172.142

Cheers.
__________________
Video: 70" JVC HD-70G886, Denon 2807, Toshiba HD-A2, Sharp BD-HP20U, aTV, Vip 612
Audio: Athena WS-100 (F), WS-60 (C,SL/R), WS-15 (SBL/R), AS-P4100


Last edited by mmmmDoNut : 10-28-2009 at 11:10 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-28-2009, 11:41 AM
GizmoDVD's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Default

tenzing.fmpub.net

slows my browser to a crawl while it 'loads'.
__________________
= LG BD390 / 300 Discs
= XA1, A30 / 351 Discs
XBL: SharpWoodenStke (Left 4 Dead 1 and 2)
Blu-Views
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000-2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0